<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="/stylesheets/rss.xsl"?>
<rss version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Site Reviews by Mariah</title>
    <description>Site Reviews by Mariah in the Norton Safe Web community</description>
    <pubDate>Mon May 21 08:08:14 +0000 2012</pubDate>
    <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/profile/Mariah</link>
    <item>
      <title>redbubble.com   :    Safe and pretty awesome.</title>
      <description>Recently bought some stuff from there, and it's all legitimate.  On a non-virus-related note, they have some amazing costumer service.  I asked to exchange a shirt since I made a mistake with the color and size, and they sent me a new one, no questions asked, and let me keep the old one.  Really friendly, too.</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jan 2012 22:29:37 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=redbubble.com</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>yahoo.com   :    uhoh...</title>
      <description>I'm normally very consistent with what sites I go on, but lately I started going on Yahoo!Answers often, just for fun.  When I had few issues before, after going on yahoo answers daily, my computer began having major issues and almost crashed.  Neither Norton, Spybot-Search &amp;amp; Destroy, or Malwarebytes could find the issue.  I had to use an online scanner called ESET I had been given the link to by a Spybot-S&amp;amp;D support member to search my computer, and remove the threats.
While I doubt Yahoo itself is a danger, the ads are another story, it seems.</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 27 Dec 2010 02:58:48 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=yahoo.com</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>anywho.com   :    Sponsors a known scam site.</title>
      <description>I'm not sure if this site itself is harmful in anyway, but it sponsors another site called Intelius, which is known to be a scam and have viruses.</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 11 Sep 2010 16:28:45 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=anywho.com</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>intelius.com   :    Like the others said.</title>
      <description>My mom recently used this site, and Norton just told me it had to prevent an attack.  I believe by the path the attack took that it's something trying to give out our information.  While doing an online scan that I trust, it detected something called a variant of &amp;quot;Java/Exploit.Agent.W trojan.&amp;quot;
So I think it goes without saying.  DON'T USE THIS SITE.</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 11 Sep 2010 16:21:10 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=intelius.com</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>fanfiction.net   :    Ad Blocker link.  Bookmark it.</title>
      <description>The site itself does not have a virus.  The issue people have is with ads (as it is with many sites).  It is for this reason that the site has developed a &amp;quot;Ad Blocker&amp;quot; tool that blocks ads for 24 hours.
Just bookmark the link and block ads before browsing the site if you find you have issues. (http://login.fanfiction.net/adblocker.php)
And don't worry, if that link were a scam it wouldn't have &amp;quot;fanfiction.net&amp;quot; in it, I assure you. =_=
I myself, nor my friends have had issues, but I always use the ad blocker to be on the safe side.</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 29 Jul 2010 02:51:06 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=fanfiction.net</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>forums.spybot.info   :    Safe and Helpful</title>
      <description>Spybot - S&amp;amp;D is a pretty good program, and the Spybot people on this site are very helpful if you think you have a virus the program hasn't removed.  They give you programs that can scan your computer for specific problems, and help remove those problems if they can.</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 18 Jul 2010 21:57:03 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=forums.spybot.info</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>facebook.com   :    Just don't go willy-nilly with the apps and such.</title>
      <description>Just be careful what apps you go on, and don't &amp;quot;like&amp;quot; or &amp;quot;join&amp;quot; any group that requires you to join to see something.  Like &amp;quot;OMG LOL HIDDEN PICTURE IN TOY STORY 3.  JOIN TO VIEW&amp;quot; or something like that.  As far as ads go, those are fine, as long as you don't click them. (Unless you know for a fact they are legitimate).</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 07 Jul 2010 17:33:58 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=facebook.com</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>deviantart.com   :    Never had an issue, but if you are, read.</title>
      <description>Yes I'm reviewing again because I have a slight update.

As I have said many times, I have never once, during my over 3 years on this site, had one single popup or issue, or even Firefox or Norton telling me it has blocked an attempted attack.  Therefore, I'm going to rate it as safe, being that I'm on here nearly everyday for years and have never been attacked.
If anything, this is an issue that will blow over very soon, and deviantART will take care of.  It isn't a thing that will last for very long and doesn't happen often, I assure you.

I have contacted deviantART about these few reports of attempted attacks, though.  (By the way, if you have a small attack that Norton can easily block, I don't believe it is worthy of a one red bar rating.  If it is something Norton is blocking, then there is no reason to panic.) 
I was given this link, where you can report any advertisements you think are causing these attacks: http://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?key=pgI_7tRdDtfTLK0L1ZJ5VYw
They said they will remove any ads claimed to show signs of malicious behavior, and they don't tolerate it.  Which I believe, since they've worked hard to make the site secure, I know.  They're a very popular site, that also sells merchandise, and they wouldn't want to let a virus run free, causing less people to go on.</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 11 Mar 2010 20:35:06 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=deviantart.com</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>denofangels.com   :    Safe</title>
      <description>Considering the site is just for chatting about BJDs and their income comes from ads bought out by users wanting to make money off commissions, it's about as safe as you can get virus-wise.</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 18 Feb 2010 01:04:58 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=denofangels.com</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>deviantart.net   :    Hm..</title>
      <description>I know deviantART has harmless cookies that the site uses to measure traffic flow, but I hadn't heard about these other viruses, and it seems Norton just discovered them.
I'm going to contact dA about them, but as long as you stay away from those few addresses, you should be fine.</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 10 Feb 2010 13:38:49 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=deviantart.net</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>cursormania.com   :    Psh.</title>
      <description>Don't trust any site like this.  Nearly all cursor or screensaver sites are certain to harm your computer.</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 09 Feb 2010 13:33:38 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=cursormania.com</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>systemax.jp   :    Seems alright.</title>
      <description>I've known many people to download the SAI program with no computer problems.  It's fairly popular.  I own it myself.</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 20 Jan 2010 14:08:34 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=systemax.jp</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>playlist.com   :    Worms.  Bad ones.</title>
      <description>My computer recently crashed from a level 5 worm (a netsky one).  By the time we found it, it was too late and we had to reinstall our entire system and wipe out the hard drive.  I saw the community reviews here, and they match the description of the worm I had.
And unfortunately I learned this after using the site again, so I need to download extra security tools to make sure that, if I have it, it's gone before it can harm my computer again.</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 20 Jan 2010 13:49:08 +0000</pubDate>
      <link>http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=playlist.com</link>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>

